Car finance redress
A DCA is a commission model in which the dealer or broker could choose your interest rate within a range set by the lender, and earned more commission the higher they set it. The FCA banned this practice on 28 January 2021.
Worked example
Lender's target APR 7%. Broker sets your APR at 9%. The extra 2% of interest over the loan term is collected from you and shared with the broker as commission. You were quoted "9% APR" but never told that 7% was available, or that the broker's pay rose with your rate.
Redress estimate
Any figures here are an estimate, not a promise, and nothing on this page is financial or legal advice. You can claim free yourself — you don't need a claims firm.
A discretionary commission arrangement (DCA) let a car dealer or broker raise your finance interest rate within a range, and earn themselves more commission the higher they set it. Because their pay rose with your rate, some borrowers paid more interest than they needed to. This page helps you check whether your deal had one, which years are affected and how redress is worked out.
The FCA banned DCAs on 28 January 2021, and they sit at the heart of the car finance scandal and the 2026 redress scheme. Any figure you see is an estimate, not a promise. Nobody is guaranteed a payout, and the amount depends on your own agreement. Check your position with the compensation estimator, then read the scandal explained.
What is a discretionary commission arrangement (DCA)?
A DCA is a commission model in which the dealer or broker could choose your interest rate within a range set by the lender, and earned more commission the higher they set it. The FCA banned this practice on 28 January 2021.
The lender set a "target" rate and a higher ceiling. The broker could then push your rate toward the ceiling, and the difference between the two was paid to them as commission. Moving it up earned more commission. That is a clear conflict of interest, because the person arranging your finance was rewarded for charging you more.
On a typical deal, a 2 to 3 percentage point increase in the APR could mean hundreds of pounds of extra interest over the term. You paid it, and it went to the broker as commission. That conflict is why the FCA banned DCAs. Whether it made your relationship with the lender "unfair" is a legal test under section 140A of the Consumer Credit Act 1974, the test the Supreme Court applied in August 2025, and the FCA's scheme treats an undisclosed DCA as unfair unless one of its exceptions applies.
To see what that gap costs on your own numbers, the true cost of interest calculator turns any quoted rate into the total interest you'd pay over the term.
How a DCA worked in practice
DCA vs other commission types
The 2026 scheme treats three commission problems differently. A DCA is the clearest, but a large fixed commission (a high-commission arrangement) or a hidden contractual tie can also qualify if it was not disclosed.
Eligibility was tightened between the consultation and the final scheme (PS26/3). The FCA excluded 0% and minimal-commission deals, because there was no commission-driven conflict to put right.
| Type | How it worked | In scope? |
|---|---|---|
| Discretionary commission (DCA) | Broker raised your rate to earn more; banned 28 Jan 2021 | Yes, if not disclosed |
| High-commission arrangement | Fixed commission at least 39% of cost of credit AND 10% of loan | Yes, if not disclosed |
| Contractual tie | Broker tied to one lender, limiting your choice | Yes, if not disclosed |
| Properly disclosed commission | Clearly explained in a way the FCA accepts | Generally no |
| 0% / minimal commission | No meaningful commission paid | No, excluded |
Did your agreement have one?
You often can't tell from the credit agreement alone, because DCAs were rarely spelled out. The strongest clues are the start date, whether a dealer or broker arranged it, and how your rate was set.
The surest way to find out is to ask the lender directly. Our letter template asks whether a DCA applied and how much commission was paid.
- Your finance started between 6 April 2007 and 28 January 2021 (DCAs were banned on the latter date; the wider scheme window runs to 1 November 2024 to catch high-commission and tie cases too).
- It was arranged by a dealer or broker, not a loan you set up directly with a bank.
- Nobody clearly explained how your interest rate was decided or what commission was paid.
- Your APR feels higher than rates advertised around the time you took the deal out.
Why DCAs were unfair
DCAs were unfair because they rewarded the broker for making your finance more expensive, without telling you. Your interests and theirs pulled in opposite directions.
The Supreme Court examined this conflict on 1 August 2025, applying the unfair-relationship test in section 140A of the Consumer Credit Act 1974. The FCA had already acted: it banned DCAs on 28 January 2021 after a market review found widespread harm. The ruling made clear that non-disclosure alone will not necessarily make the relationship unfair: it is one factor, weighed with others such as the size of the commission and any hidden tie with the lender.
The FCA's redress scheme (PS26/3, made 30 March 2026) followed, to apply the same logic across the industry rather than case by case in court. Parts of it have been suspended by the Upper Tribunal since 29 June 2026 while a legal challenge is heard, from 16 February to 3 March 2027.
The conflict in one line
Which years are affected?
The scheme window runs from 6 April 2007 to 1 November 2024, but DCAs themselves were in use only until the FCA ban on 28 January 2021. Deals arranged after the ban should not carry a DCA.
The window runs past the ban because the scheme also covers high-commission arrangements and contractual ties that continued after DCAs ended. So even a 2022 or 2023 deal could be in scope, but only if an undisclosed high commission or tie applied.
If your deal sits inside that window, it's worth checking. Any figure you see is an estimate, not a promise. Nobody is guaranteed a payout, and the amount depends on your own agreement.
How redress is worked out for a DCA
For most DCA cases, redress is the average of an estimated loss and the commission paid, plus interest on top. The average across the scheme is about £829 per agreement.
In practice the lender estimates your loss as the interest you would have saved if your APR had been 17% lower (agreements from 1 April 2014) or 21% lower (earlier ones), averages that with the commission paid, adds simple interest at the annual average Bank of England base rate plus 1%, with a 3% minimum in any year, and then checks the result against three limits, which cap about one in three cases. The most serious cases, close to the Supreme Court's Johnson case, get all the commission back plus interest. Any figure you see is an estimate, not a promise. Nobody is guaranteed a payout, and the amount depends on your own agreement.
Worked example: a £12,000 HP over 48 months
The three steps the lender follows
Under PS26/3, a DCA redress calculation runs in three stages: identify, reprice, reconcile. The lender does this when it assesses your agreement.
You don't have to do the maths yourself. Under the scheme rules the lender works it out, tells you in writing if you qualify, and explains how it reached the figure. While parts of the scheme are suspended, lenders do not need to calculate or pay compensation, and payouts are expected in 2027 at the earliest, if the scheme is upheld and the judgment is not appealed. If the number looks wrong when it comes, you can ask for the workings, and if you still disagree, the Financial Ombudsman will recheck it for free.
- Identify whether a DCA applied to your agreement and what commission was actually paid to the broker.
- Reprice the deal to estimate your loss: the interest you would have saved with an APR 17% lower (agreements from 1 April 2014) or 21% lower (earlier ones), averaged with the commission paid.
- Reconcile the figure by adding simple interest at the annual average Bank of England base rate plus 1%, with a 3% minimum in any year, then apply the cap if your case falls into the roughly one-in-three that is capped.
DCA vs non-DCA deals
A non-DCA deal still has commission, but it isn't flexed with your interest rate. That matters because the scheme treats the two differently.
So a post-2021 deal with a fixed, properly disclosed commission is generally fine. The problem on a non-DCA deal only arises if the commission was large enough to count as a high-commission arrangement (at least 39% of total cost of credit and 10% of the loan) or came with an undisclosed contractual tie.
| Feature | DCA deal | Non-DCA deal |
|---|---|---|
| Who set the rate | Broker chose within a lender range | Lender set a fixed rate |
| Commission linked to rate | Yes: higher rate, higher pay | No, commission is fixed |
| Banned by FCA | Yes, 28 January 2021 | No, fixed commission still allowed |
| Route into the scheme | Undisclosed DCA triggers it | Only if a high-commission arrangement or contractual tie applies |
| Typical redress logic | Return the rate gap plus interest | Return the commission effect if thresholds are met |
Where DCAs appeared most often
DCAs were concentrated in dealer-arranged finance between roughly 2007 and 2020, and they show up across PCP, HP and personal loans secured on a car. The product type made no difference. What mattered was whether a dealer or broker arranged the finance.
Industry reviews by the FCA found DCAs were widespread in showroom-arranged finance, where a dealer introduced you to a panel of lenders. A direct loan from your own bank, with no introducer, could not carry a DCA because there was no broker to flex the rate. That's why a direct bank loan you arranged yourself sits outside the scheme.
Within dealer finance, PCP and HP deals both carried DCAs. PCPs were more exposed because far more of them were sold, and the longer term amplified the interest gap.
Watch out for DCA claims-firm traps
Because DCAs are the clearest trigger, they are also the favourite hook for claims-management marketing. Know the signs so that, if you are owed redress, you keep all of it.
- 'We've checked, you definitely had a DCA': no firm can know that before contacting your lender; only the lender's records confirm it.
- 'Sign now before the deadline': there is no need to rush. If your lender has not contacted you, the deadline to complain is 31 August 2027 under the scheme rules as made, which may change after the legal challenge, and a complaint to your lender is free.
- 'No win, no fee': true, but 'no fee' still means up to 36% including VAT of any payout if you win. Complain yourself and you keep 100% of it.
- 'We can speed up your claim': the scheme and the ombudsman treat DIY and CMC complaints at the same pace; a CMC cannot jump the queue.
The DCA redress is yours, not the firm's
Were you mis-sold?
The next step is to check your own deal against the eligibility checklist, then get a free estimate. No claims firm required.
Work through am I eligible, then try the compensation estimator. Claiming is free and you can do it yourself: complain to your lender first, then escalate to the Financial Ombudsman Service. You do not need a claims-management company taking a cut.
Frequently asked
What is a discretionary commission arrangement (DCA)?
Did my agreement have a DCA?
Why are DCAs unfair?
What years are affected?
How much could a DCA claim be worth?
How is DCA redress actually calculated?
Are DCAs the only thing the scheme covers?
Can I claim if my DCA deal ended years ago?
Sources
We cite regulators and official UK sources only.
- Financial Conduct Authority — motor finance redress schemefca.org.uk
- UK Supreme Courtsupremecourt.uk
- Consumer Credit Act 1974legislation.gov.uk
- Financial Ombudsman Servicefinancial-ombudsman.org.uk
Work out your next step
Independent calculators — pick the one that fits your situation.